[Thankful Thursday]

dsc_0414

Oops, this is a day late, but this week has been incredibly busy and hectic. Add that to being sick on and off with nausea and vomiting, I’m absolutely exhausted! In amongst that though, there are nevertheless things to be thankful for!

  1. Spring. I am so sick of cold weather. I love snow, and I actually do like winter, but I am just so over wearing multiple layers, hunching my shoulders because of the cold and wind, having frozen hands and ears. I am so glad there is some sun now! Although it’s still cold from the wind chill, it’s nice to see the sun shining, and the beautiful spring flowers blooming. It really does make a difference to my mood, and I have a spring in my step when I’m walking under the sun’s warmth. Now, if only the mornings and nights weren’t so freezing still.
  2. CT’s bridal shower. My friend CT is getting married next month! I was organising her bridal shower and though it was the first time doing it, it was great fun researching some tame games and activities. CT has always been encouraging me and reminding me of my good points (which I honestly don’t even realise exist!), and to be able to organise a lovely afternoon for her to spend with good friends in one place was an honour. We went for high tea, and then just spent the next few hours chatting away and sharing with each other. Makes me think of all the wonderful people in my life, and so thankful that God has blessed me with so many angels!
  3. Miso, chocolate & apple. One of the highlights of this week was making GC’s birthday cake. My not-so-baby brother turned 25 today, and I relished in making a creative cake for him! GC is one person who I can be creative with cake flavours with, and this time his cake featured miso, chocolate and apple. It was amazing, if I may say so myself. GC loved it, J&V both commented it was delicious. Oh my, were they music to my ears! To hear my loved ones say such things is so heartwarming, and encouraging that my thoughts and hard work are not for nought. It still warms my heart to think of how much GC enjoyed it =)
  4. Conversation. These days, Dad has been in such a crappy mood. I’ve stayed out of the way lest we argue, but it irks me. So when mum and dad’s friends came to stay for a few days from NSW, it not only pained me, but relieved me. It pained me that Dad couldn’t be happy and conversational with his own family. That he couldn’t talk about much with his son except for the family business, that he didn’t talk to his daughter (i.e., me) much at all. It relieved me that the friends were here because this is the first time the entire week that Dad has spoken so much at home, that he actually stayed at the dinner table longer than he had finished eating, and that he smiled and laughed. Whilst it may sound depressing, I am thankful that he has this outlet because I know how isolating and lonely it can get to be in a place with many people yet have no one to talk to.

As the week comes to a close, and the weekend rolls by, what are your plans? What are you thankful for this week?

Thanks for reading! ^^ Have a lovely weekend, everyone!

Leave a Reply

