[eating out]: Petition Kitchen (CBD)

IMG_0077

Finally! I’ve been wanting to try this place for so long, ever since I saw it flooding my instagram! The dishes looked so beautiful and sounded amazing. Thankfully, one Sunday GC and I met after church for some food and shopping.

IMG_0072

The interior is lovely and I love what the council has done to the entire building. It looks inviting, modern yet rustic. Petition in particular is quite long, with seating spanning the entire wall. I love how you can see the kitchen, which was in fact right in front of us. Always interesting to have a snoop at the chefs and see them at work.

IMG_0074

I initially wanted the smoked sardines dish, but after spotting this on another table, the burst of colour was too much for me to not want it too. I don’t eat peas often and when I do, it’s usually the frozen ones. So I was pretty happy that all the peas in this dish were not wrinkly, but instead sweet and just so bursty and fresh. I lost a few as they rolled off my fork (a spoon would be good here), but otherwise none of this sweet goodness was wasted. The fresh peas paired beautifully with the confit coral trout which had a salty and smoky flavour to them. The black crumbs were amazing too, adding a sharp hit of saltiness and olive taste to the dish. There were dollops of goats curd under the peas randomly, which I avoided like the plague but luckily GC finished those peas for me =)

IMG_0076

GC ordered the brioche waffle with heirloom tomatoes, feta, basil pesto. This was incredibly crunchy. I think I was about 1/4 way through my dish and GC had already demolished 3/4 of his. Naturally, he sat there waiting for me to finish haha. The brioche was fluffy and GC commented that there seemed to be layers within it. The tomatoes were bursting with tomato freshness and they were just delicious. GC thoroughly enjoyed this.

I love this place! It’s such a great atmosphere and the food looks & tastes great. I also love the crockery they use. Looking forward to the next time I come. They have a killer-looking wine list and interesting-sounding desserts. I would totally come here just for those.

Petition Kitchen Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Thanks for reading! ^^

Leave a Reply

