[eating out]: Co-op Dining (East Perth)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Is it just me, or did it seem like the weekend was non-existent?

Anyway! As you may have noticed, food, cooking and baking are my favourite pastimes. Naturally, I just love experimenting and challenging myself in the kitchen. A degustation meal has always been a foodie aim of mine. I find it so interesting to see how the chefs pair different flavours, techniques and textures together, especially if I admire their cooking ethos.

I decided one of my post-PhD treats would be a degustation dinner, and what better way to do it than with my favourite foodie friends, AS and JW!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Something simple – corn cob rolled in pork fat with crackle.

Being the nerds and scientists we are, we actually researched and narrowed down which places did degustations, and which place sounded most worth going. In the end, we decided to go all out with Co-Op Dining’s 10-course degustation, and it was not a wrong decision! Their cooking style and the way the chefs use fresh produce in a sustainable manner enticed us. JW had actually been before, but she didn’t mind going again – that in itself speaks a lot!

I didn’t take many photos during the night as I wanted to be completely present and mindful to enjoy the food and time with my friends. There really was not anything to fault, save for personal preferences for salt levels.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Lamb sliders – milk bun, charcoal emulsion, [the best ever] sauerkraut; malt crispbread, [amazingly awesome] wholegrain, cured pork (I forgot the name sorry)
All the food were beautifully presented, and the chef was happy to chat about the sous-vide egg yolk and the S-V technique in general. It was great to see his passion and desire to share it. JW had to bite back her tongue in asking if I could work there haha.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Quail scotched egg, black pudding, beetroot, celeriac

We were incredibly full after the dinner – the portions were bigger than I expected, and definitely the quality and quantity of food were worth the price. Not to mention, the atmosphere. We were seated in a very cosy booth, but the entire restaurant has an elegant feel to it.

Co-op Dining have a few different types of degustation menus available. On Tuesdays, they have a vegetarian one too.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
White & green asparagus, pea puree, pine nut crumble

They are also very happy to cater for dietary requirements. I don’t eat cheese…actually I only eat non-cheese-tasting cheeses so they were happy to replace the goat’s milk ricotta for pea puree in the dish above for me. In fact, JW and AS were a bit jealous after they tasted mine because they thought it paired better haha.

Highly recommend this place for a special dinner date, or if you need a treat after a PhD, or…just because! =P

Co-Op Dining Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Thanks for reading! ^^ Have a lovely start to the week, everyone!

Leave a Reply

