[CCbakes]: My first wedding ‘job’!

 

IMG_8268

Regular readers will know that I love cooking and baking, and I’m always looking for opportunities to challenge myself in these aspects, whether it be new and/or different cuisines, or techniques and so on.

It was a huge pleasure when one of my best friends RT (oops, now RS) asked me if I’d have time (and want to) cater her wedding desserts! Needless to say, I jumped on the opportunity like there was no tomorrow. I’ve always wanted to do a catering job, and a small-scale one was a perfect place ot start. Plus, it was for a friend so how could you say no?

IMG_8205
Almond crumble (GF) for the cheesecake

Unfortunately, it was an quite an inopportune time as I was still in the midst of preparing my thesis, but looking back now, it’s not something I would’ve said no to.

After some careful planning in terms of time and logistics, and checking in with RS, I decided on the following small desserts:

Carrot cake slice
Raspberry chocolate brownies (GF, vegan)
Citrus Cheesecake (GF)
Vodka marshmallows (GF)

 

IMG_8272
Carrot cake slice

I also baked a red velvet wedding cake after RS said she hadn’t ordered one. A birthday isn’t a birthday without cake, and a wedding is no different!

It was such a good experience! Although I had to test-bake and eat so so many carrot cakes, brownies and marshmallows to see how many batches I’d have to make. Plus, the brownies had to be GF AND vegan =.=’ All these new food trends complete wreaked havoc, but it was amazing and interesting to accommodate for them!

 

IMG_8271
Raspberry and chocolate brownies

The cheesecake and carrot cakes were my favourite to make, and most guests commented they were the tastiest too.

 

IMG_8273
Marshmallows – baileys, raspberry vodkda, mango vodka; pinapple tarts; kuih lapis

 

IMG_8239
Citrus cheesecake with lemon curd and raspberry coulis

It was definitely a time-intensive and stressful task, but it was a different kind of stress compared to the PhD…one that was definitely more enjoyable!

 

IMG_8274
Dessert table – spot the red velvet wedding cake!

Baking and cooking never fails to brighten my day, especially when it’s for loved ones!

Thanks for reading! ^^ Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

Leave a Reply

