[cc bakes]: Layers & layers of matcha goodness!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

GC generally loves matcha, pistachio and chocolate. For each of his cakes, I’ve always asked him what he’d like, but this time I wanted to try make a millecrepe! I’ve been seeing them everywhere on social media and though the idea behind it is relatively simple, the finished product looks incredibly sophisticated and grand.

Since I’ve made him a pistachio-based cake previously, I decided to go with matcha this year.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
matcha millecrepe cake

The crepe layers were, unfortunately, a little thicker than expected so the cake ended up quite tall and heavy. I tried a new ratio for the creme patissiere and it was amazing! Naturally, it was rich in matcha flavour, but also with a hint of vanilla. I added a few raspberries here and there in between the crepe layers.

Topping the cake was a bit of a decision-making process as I didn’t want it to look too plain and boring, so in the end I topped it with fresh raspberries and icing sugar. The raspberries ended up cutting through the richness of the cake so it was great.

[components]: matcha crepe, vanilla crepe, matcha creme patissiere, fresh raspberries

IMG_1970

Have a great weekend, everyone!

Thanks for reading! ^^

Leave a Reply

