[thoughts]: A Spanish Affair (2014)

spanish affairWell, this post is slightly overdue….just slightly =P Apologies, readers, it’s been incredibly long since I last updated the blog, hasn’t it? Anyway! I never really have time to actually watch movies, but I love watching films from other countries so when there are International Film Festivals, I try to make it to at least one or two of them. It’s always so nice to see what ideas are presented through films, isn’t it?

I managed to catch A Spanish Affair when it was showing as part of the Spanish Film Festival! Unfortunately I didn’t realise it was on until the last few days, and I could only make one session =( Nevertheless, I’m glad I managed to catch this film!

Rafael, a Seville citizen who has never left the Spanish region of Andalucia, decides to leave his homeland to follow Amaia, a Basque girl unlike other women he has known.

The movie is akin to a romantic comedy so there were plenty of laughs all around. Perhaps it’s my stressful and busy schedule, but I really enjoyed just how incredibly ridiculous it got sometimes. There’s so much misunderstanding between the characters which conjures up the humour, and so much political satire. From what I gather from the movie, it seems like there’s this stereotyped angst between Spaniards from Seville and Basque so there was quite a bit of political satire in there. My history knowledge is incredibly lacking, so I googled it afterwards and got bombarded by way too much information!

The acting in the movie is quite exaggerated and I’ve never seen those actors and actresses before so I’m not sure if that’s their style, or if it’s because of the film’s story. The guy who plays Rafael is so animated in his expressions, it’s hilarious.

Although there’s plenty of laughs around, there is still that little bit of character development, and we see the change in both Rafael and Amaia through their experiences and encounters with each other. Barriers are overcome, grudges are let go, new relationships are formed, and old ones re-established. It’s nice and heartwarming to see in amongst the laughs too.

It was a great night with lots of laughs, some seriously beautiful scenery in the film! My interest in travelling to Spain was reignited with this movie, but to the more less urbanised and populated areas….oh dear. My travel list is growing much too quickly (well, too quick for the amount of time and financial funds available hehe).

Have a great weekend, everyone!!

Thanks for reading! ^^

Leave a Reply

