[eating out]: Fez Cafe – Mt Lawley

IMG_6794With our busy schedules, it’s often quite difficult for us dimsum dollies to find time to catch up all together. After having to reschedule a group gathering, AS and I decided to catch up for an early breakfast before church one Sunday.

We decided to head to Fez Cafe because we both hadn’t been before and I’ve seen beautiful pictures of their food on my IG feed! After perusing the menu quickly the night before, AS was equally as excited =P

I rarely venture down that part of Mt. Lawley and after taking a wrong turn and driving down an unfamiliar stretch of road, I finally made it. On time too! Although, the whole time I was driving, I was thinking “where am I going?”.

Despite having seen the menu the night before, AS and I still had a difficult time deciding what we wanted. We both had 2 options we were tossing up so it was a very serious time of deliberation! Finally, with all our chit chat and difficulty deciding, we placed our orders.

Fez spiced haloumi salad - quinoa, avocado, fetta, hazelnuts, tomato, cucumber, honey & wholegrain mustard
Fez spiced haloumi salad – quinoa, avocado, fetta, hazelnuts, tomato, cucumber, honey & wholegrain mustard

AS ordered a beautiful salad with quinoa, haloumi, pomegranate. This comes with roast chicken too but AS opted for the vegetarian version. It smelled absolutely amazing and I was in a bit of food envy. I think it would be even more orgasmic with a poached egg haha. This looked pretty huge and AS was quite satiated afterwards.

I ordered the fresh fruit with granola and banana coconut pudding. I had seen photos of their pannacotta before so I was a bit sad they took it off the menu (it seems like it’s back!). I love all the tropical fruits they included like dragonfruit. I rarely buy these fruits myself because not many people eat it at home but me, so this is my chance to eat them! All the fruits were very fresh and sweet, especially the nectarines and peaches of which I have had quite a few bad ones this season.

Fresh fruits, chia seeds, banana coconut custard, buckwheat granola, meringue
Fresh fruits, chia seeds, banana coconut custard, buckwheat granola, meringue

The banana coconut pudding was quite nice, but there wasn’t much of it. I think this would have been much better with some milk on the side because I found it quite dry. Whilst the pudding and the chia pudding added some moisture, they were still quite thick and didn’t meld well with the granola.

Great food, and even better company. I have a very special group of girlfriends for whom I am incredibly thankful for; no words can ever describe the feeling. The past few years have been the worst in my 20-odd years of life, this year will be exceptionally stressful too, but these girls stand by me no matter what or when. I often wonder what I can do for them because they’ve done so much for me, but the only thing I can do is offer up my own time for them, and give them little bits of my baking and cooking. Even though the words “thank you” aren’t enough, thank you so much for this time, AS. Thank you, dimsum dollies, for being in my life. Thank you, God, for this blessing.

 Click to add a blog post for Fez Cafe on Zomato

Happy Easter, everyone! Hope you all have a great long weekend!!

Thanks for reading! ^^

Leave a Reply

