[Melb 2014]: Creperie le Triskel – CBD

IMG_6271Did you know there is no such thing as a “savoury crepe”? They’re actually called gallettes. Pancakes, crepes and waffles aren’t usually a must-have for me. In fact, the only reason I eat waffles is for the ice-cream and the hot-cold pairing. So it surprised me that I fell in love with savoury crepes gallettes the moment GC and I had it in Melbourne last year.

Naturally, I had to pay a visit to Creperie le Triskel for some again!

DT ordered the la carabistouille which came with salted caramel, braised apple, vanilla ice-cream and walnut. Obviously, this is a sweet crepe. It was nice but isn’t something I would order again. The apples were nicely braised with some residual firmness but they were exceptionally sweet and sliced really thin. I would’ve preferred if it was thicker so there was more of a bite.

la complete (egg, tomato sauce, spinach)
la complete (egg, tomato sauce, spinach)

As most of my friends know, I’m a sucker for eggs and whenever I go for brunch, I usually pick items that have egg (poached eggs especially!). I went with the la complete, which came with egg, house-made tomato sauce and spinach. It actually comes with cheese but they kindly let me swap that with spinach =)

The batter for gallettes is made from buckwheat so there was a nice nutty flavour, and it was a bit more sponge-y than the sweet crepe. Just like the previous time, I enjoyed this immensely. The tomato sauce was still tart which was great and after unearthing my gooey egg yolk and bursting it, the gallette was even better smothered with the liquid gold.

Yet another satisfying meal. I think this place will always feature in any future trips to Melbourne!

Creperie le Triskel on Urbanspoon

Thanks for reading! ^^ Have a great weekend, all!

3 thoughts on “[Melb 2014]: Creperie le Triskel – CBD

Leave a Reply

