[Melb 2014]: Chez Dre – South Melbourne

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIf you’ve read through other posts on my blog, you probably noticed that I am extremely interested in cooking and baking, and food in general. I follow quite a few pastry chefs on IG and Facebook, and seeing their creations always inspires me to keep challenging myself with new techniques and flavour/texture combinations.

After visiting Chez Dre and absolutely loving it last year, I knew I had to go again this time. Once again, choosing what to get was difficult!

After exploring South Melbourne market and filling up on 2dz oysters, we headed to get our cake fix. This was a normal occurence for pretty much each day of our Melbourne trip. This is also why I now probably have diabetes =P

As usual, the place was crowded but we ended up waiting only 15-20min. We had a look at the gateaux on offer whilst waiting, as we knew the choice would be difficult. I really wanted to get the hazelnut-praline crunch, after missing it last year. We then chose 2 others, the mango, coconut & yuzu and the lemon-hazelnut tart.

mango, coconut & yuzu  [mango jelly, coconut mousse, peanut tuile, white chocolate & yuzu cremeux, roasted coconut dacquoise]
mango, coconut & yuzu
[mango jelly, coconut mousse, peanut tuile, white chocolate & yuzu cremeux, roasted coconut dacquoise]
mango, coconut & yuzu  [mango jelly, coconut mousse, peanut tuile, white chocolate & yuzu cremeux, roasted coconut dacquoise]
mango, coconut & yuzu
[mango jelly, coconut mousse, peanut tuile, white chocolate & yuzu cremeux, roasted coconut dacquoise]
The mango, coconut & yuzu was nice. The flavours were nice and light, and blended well with each other. I wish there was more coconut taste in the mousse though, as it fell quite flat and overpowered with the mango components. That said, if something has coconut in it, it has to be very coconut-ty for me! I do wish there was a bit more texture in it as well, as it was all quite soft with just the mousse.

lemon-hazelnut tart [lemon mousse, pate de praline, lemon creme, hazelnut dacquoise]
lemon-hazelnut tart
[lemon mousse, pate de praline, lemon creme, hazelnut dacquoise]
lemon-hazelnut tart [lemon mousse, pate de praline, lemon creme, hazelnut dacquoise]
lemon-hazelnut tart
[lemon mousse, pate de praline, lemon creme, hazelnut dacquoise]
The lemon-hazelnut tart was nice but a little too sweet for me. The lemon curd could be more tart to cut through the cloying creaminess and sweetness. I still really enjoyed it though as the flavours blended well together and the hazelnut paired unexpectedly well with the lemon. This is definitely a flavour combination that I hadn’t tasted before!

hazelnut-praline crunch  [hazelnut dacquoise, gianduja mousse, hazelnut & chocolate crumble]
hazelnut-praline crunch
[hazelnut dacquoise, gianduja mousse, hazelnut & chocolate crumble]
The hazelnut-praline crunch was my favourite for the day. It was rich, textural and tasted much like a ferrero rocher. It had a great sweet-salty balance, and the texture was great! There was crunch from the hazelnut crumble, and the ganache was smooth and creamy. I like desserts that are rich, but not to sweet as in just sugar sweet and this fit the bill perfectly!

As always, there were so many more that I wanted to try but there’s only so much sugar I can take in one day! I would love to have tried the brunch here too, as they sound/smell/look delicious! Next time!

Once you step foot in here, and taste the petite gateaux, you will understand why it’s always so popular and crowded! It’s amazing!

Chez Dré on Urbanspoon

Thanks for reading! ^^ Have a great Friday, everyone! Weekend tomorrow!

3 thoughts on “[Melb 2014]: Chez Dre – South Melbourne

  1. How decadent are those desserts CC?! I was walking with Daisy (me little dog) and wanted to go there. Half way to Chez Dre, I realised it was actually too far and Daisy was half-dead so we ended up walking back to the apartment haha. Must definitely come back here next time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

