[CC bakes]: A little peanut, a little salted, a little chewy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADecember, as we all know, signifies the end of yet another year. For me, it’s also the month of the last birthday cake in my family. As I look back at the cakes I’ve made for my family this year, I really do wonder how I managed it, given the serious lack of spare time I had. Even though it’s exceptionally tiring and I lose hours of sleep, I enjoy it a lot and I’m definitely looking forward to many more years of this mission! Until they get sick of my cakes, that is…

It was a big birthday milestone for my sister this year, and I actually couldn’t be here for it because I was at a conference in Melbourne. This made it a bit difficult to plan her cake, as I had to revise the initial plan. I first wanted to make her a red velvet layer cake, but since I wasn’t going to be here, I knew it wouldn’t keep well. I needed to prepare the cake before I left, and I didn’t want my family to eat a dried out cake due to being refrigerated/frozen for days! That’s just blasphemy!

I decided an icecream cake would be ideal, as it just needed to be frozen and taken out. No last-minute components to be added by my family.

My siblings and I absolutely love mochi icecreams. For those who don’t know, they are mochi (glutinous rice) skin encasing a ball of icecream. We used to always get a pack to share when Mum took us to Northbridge. Our love extends internationally too – my Uncle would always prep the freezer full of mochi icecreams for when we go to HK for holidays. Vanilla for the boys, yam and/or black sesame for the girls.

SC’s final cake was inspired by this, and after consulting with my friend VN who excitedly exclaimed “do eeeeeet!”, I decided the mochi icecream cake was the way to go! It was simple enough for my family to have whilst I was gone too. All I needed to do was ensure Dad remembered to bring it to dinner!

So the type of cake has been decided, but what about the icecream filling? Matcha? Black sesame? They’re all SC’s favourites, but I wanted something a bit different. Then I remembered her love for peanut tang yuan, plus my love for sweet-salty dessert combinations. Thus resulted in the namesake of this post. Vanilla icecream swirled with salted caramel and peanut praline, encased within a chewy mochi skin.

Vanilla icecream, salted caramel, peanut praline, mochi.
Vanilla icecream, salted caramel, peanut praline, mochi.

By the way, making an icecream cake like this in the morning is a hazard. You’d want to lick the spoon, but it’s a tad too early for icecream at 7am!!

It was my first time making salted caramel and although it didn’t turn out as smooth and glossy as I’d hoped, I was swirling it in icecream anyway so it was ok. Not the most perfect-looking cake, but something unique and special for my one and only sister.

I managed to speak to her on the night and was glad to hear she enjoyed the cake, though she did exclaim it was pretty frozen! haha.

Can’t wait to come up with new cake ideas for 2015!

Missed out on my other cakes this year? Check them out here!

Thanks for reading! ^^ Have a great weekend, everyone!

Leave a Reply

