[Melb 2013]: Exploring Melb CBD

Melbourne Convention Centre
I’m a walker. What I mean is that I much prefer to walk than be in a bus/car and I can walk for a long time until my feet have transitioned through the ‘slight ache – really sore – burning pain – numb’ stages. haha. When I travel, it’s much the same and one of my favourite things to do is to just walk around the place taking in the sights, the sounds, and the smells.
Which is exactly what I did in Melbourne. 

Sunrise
Many of my friends who’ve been to Melbourne speak loads of praises about this city, often citing Melbourne as the city with rich arts and culture that permeates the streets. You would think expectations would be high, given all the praises, increasing the chance of disappointment. But disappointed I was not, not in the least. And I’ll show you why…

Artistic graffiti
Streets of Melbourne CBD – morning
Immigration Museum
Melbourne Aquarium
As I walked along the streets of Melbourne CBD, I noticed how there was a mix of old heritage buildings in amongst the new concrete skyscrapers. I love the mix of the old sights with the newer designs as it adds a lot of character to a city. Agree? 

Melbourne’s street graffiti is one of the things I wanted to explore. Yes, graffiti is, in a sense, bad and a legal offense actually, but when you do it in a stylish way, I think it really adds some character to the streets. Another example of street paintings that have character are those in Penang, which I have yet to visit though =(

Circle tram
Goodness knows how many times I rode this city circle tram! Basically, the tram does what it states – circles the city on the outer perimeter. It’s very convenient and it’s a great way for non-walkers to explore Melbourne CBD.
I remember my brother GC and I took the tram to head to Spring St Grocers for their amazing icecream, which is so amazing that no icecream thus far has been comparable anymore! =P 
Love this building! 

Degreaves Lane
To me, and many others in fact, Melbourne signifies the city of coffee. There are so many cafes that are touted to serve incredible coffees. In a way, I was a bit disappointed that I don’t drink coffee, given the huge coffee culture over here. But it didn’t matter – I found more than enough things to try in Melbourne, and the list only grows as I read more blogs from Melb-based bloggers! 
Windsor Hotel
How beautiful is this hotel? It’s so incredibly grand, it looks like it’s just been taken right out of a Hollywood film! 
Australian Centre for the Moving Image (ACMI)
Federation Square…I think?

I think this is Federation Square? But nevertheless, it’s just so visually appealing to me.

I was so blessed to have good weather when I went to Melbourne. It was quite cold, but luckily we didn’t have any rain while we were out and about! Except for very slight drizzles =)

Those who have travelled to Melbourne, or live/lived there, you will recognise these images I’m sure. Those who haven’t been, well…what are you waiting for? GO! =P haha.

Thanks for reading! ^^ Enjoy the rest of the week!

2 thoughts on “[Melb 2013]: Exploring Melb CBD

  1. Looking at your pics brings back memories @@!! The place looks same but different if you get my cue :)!

    Also, Merry Xmas and Happy New Year to you and your family cc!

    Like

  2. I know exactly what you mean! I get that feeling when for HK too! It's nice to see things from another perspective, which is what I see when others post photos of HK.

    Wishing you and your loved ones a blessed Xmas and Happy New Year too, WenY!

    Like

Leave a Reply

