[CC bakes]: Happy Birthday, Dad!

Creme patissiere, caramelised granny smiths, and cream…
Hello all!! Do you remember me? I have been incredibly lax in my blogging (*hangs head in shame*) and I do apologise for it!! Profusely!! I’ve just been way too busy with uni, and trust me, I would love to just have that little bit of free time to give you guys more frequent posts! Even now, I’m procrastinating from exam study because I don’t know where to begin studying for this unit ><! 
Anyway! What you see in the above photo are the main components of the birthday cake I made for my incredibly talented Dad. Buuuuut…what is the cake? 

TA-DAH!!
Dad absolutely LOVES the Corica apple strudel…layers of flaky pastry with creme patissiere, cream and apples. So….I decided to adapt that and make it into a round cake! 
I used frozen puff pastry. One day I WILL make my own puff pastry, I am adamant of that, but given my extreme time constraints I barely even had time to make a cake at all.
The apples were simple – I actually find Corica’s ones a little too mushy so I kept mine a bit on the harder side, and of course not as sweet. I think the layers went a bit like this…puff, creme pat, apples, puff, cream, apples, puff creme pat, cream, apples, puff, cream, raspberries. It was pretty big. I added the raspberries on top as an attempt to beautify it, and some candied almonds to provide some texture =) 
My sister also said it was better than Corica’s =P YAY! haha. But the most important thing is that Dad loved it. I always get a fuzzy warm feeling when I see my loved ones enjoying the food I make them =D So corny! haha.
Anyway, hope you had a fantastic night, Dad! I know sometimes I get annoyed at you, especially when I’m tired and stressed but I love you heaps! ❤ This cake is specially designed by me only for you and I'm glad you enjoyed it! Wish you the best of health for many many more birthdays! 
Thanks for reading! ^^ Enjoy the rest of your day!! 
2 thoughts on “[CC bakes]: Happy Birthday, Dad!

  1. Are you a Singaporean student at UWA (guessing your uni is UWA)? Got the Singaporean part by guessing from the post on Prima Taste prawn mee packets. I really like your blog 🙂 esp all the Singaporean/Malaysian foods!

    Like

  2. Hi Anonymous! Thanks for dropping by! I'm not Singaporean but I can never resist the food! haha. My friends get never-ending complaints from me that I feel like durain, chay tow kuih, popiah, chwee kiuh, nonya kuih and so on and so on =P haha.

    Are you Singaporean?

    Like

Leave a Reply

