[CC cooks]: Tomato pasta sauce

So…Dad saw a box of tomatoes for $1 at the markets a couple of weeks ago…there were easily >30 tomatoes in there!

Our family eats tomatoes…but not *so* often that we would be able to finish 30 before they start to rot! We made soup (e.g., ABC soup), tomato egg, ate it as a snack, grilled it…lol all sorts of cooking methods! But it was hardly making a dent in the supply!

So what to do?

I decided to make pasta sauce! I don’t eat a lot of pasta because I don’t like the heavy dense feeling I get after eating it, but my family sometimes cooks it for a quick meal on Sundays or when there are few people eating, and homemade sauce is way better than bottled ones any day!

I kind of just did my own thing but basically this is what I did…

Recipe
(by CC, aka. Dumpling Love)

Ingredients
Ripe tomatoes – I used A LOT! But please tune it to the amount of sauce you intend to make.
4 bulbs of garlic (I like mine with a lot of garlic)
1 medium onion
2 celery stalks
Chicken/vegetable stock (or water)
Thyme
1 bay leaf
Cracked black pepper, to taste
Salt, to taste

Method
1. Roast tomatoes and garlic until cooked.
2. Peel and roughly chop tomatoes and garlic
3. Finely dice 1 medium onion
4. Grate 1 carrot and finely dice 2 stalks of celery
5. Heat up oil in a saucepan on medium heat. Add onion and sweat it out (but not let it brown)
6. Add the carrot and celery and fry until softened and fragrant
7. Add tomatoes and mix. You don’t need to do this for long because you have already roasted the tomato.
8. Add stock, thyme, bay leaf and bring to boil. Lower the heat and simmer for 10 minutes.
9. Add salt and freshly cracked black pepper, to taste (I also added a pinch of sugar, just to bring out the tomato’s taste)
10. Remove bay leaf and blend with an immersion blender (or scoop it out into a table blender)
11. Once pureed, taste and adjust as necessary. Simmer until thickened to your liking.

I used it that night to make pasta bake (my first time!) for everyone, to which I added mushrooms, spinach and fresh tomatoes. I forgot to take a photo though…oops! Then the rest I froze. I’m thinking of making a baked rice with the rest of the sauce one day… 

I am submitting this post to the ‘Little Thumbs Up’ event, organised by Zoe, from Bake for Happy Kids and My Little Favourite DIY, with Tomato as this month’s (March) theme =)

Photobucket

Thanks for reading!! ^^ Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

Leave a Reply

