[CC bakes]: Bitter + sweet + tart…

Whenever we entertain guests, I always try to ensure that there is enough food for everyone at all times. I am sure many other hosts are like that – I know a lot of bloggers are since I always see such a vast array of good foods set out before everyone during their meetups! haha.

I made these dark chocolate and raspberry muffins last weekend in case our family friends arrived early for the BBQ dinner. Good thing I did too, because they arrived VERY EARLY! haha. We had other snacks and everything too, but what hurt can a little bit of cake do, right? hehe.

These were so. GOOD! Everyone loved it. The dark chocolate chunks are bittersweet, which paired beautifully with the tart raspberries which helped cut through the sweetness. JC’s girlfriend’s Mum couldn’t stop gushing about it =D haha.

Here’s the recipe! I recommend you try this one day =)

Recipe
(Bourke St Bakery cookbook, with slight modifications)

400g all-purpose flour
2tsp baking powder
300g caster sugar
310g unsalted butter
480mL buttermilk
3 eggs
225g dark chocolate
225g raspberries
55g raw sugar, for dusting

The method is the same as the mixed berry muffins I made.

Look at those raspberries and chocolate! 
 
I  halved the recipe and got 10 muffins – but I didn’t fill them up enough so it would probably make 7-8 if I had. I pretty much just halved all the quantities, except for the sugar for which I used 90g raw caster sugar, and replaced the butter with 95g canola oil. 
It was still a bit sweet – I think it would be better to reduce the sugar further, or use a darker chocolate. I used 54% but I usually like to use 70%. But that’s because I’m a dark chocolate girl so I naturally adore the bitterness =P Plus, my family don’t have a very sweet tooth. Play around with the sugar to suit your own families’ tastes =) 
This is also something different for CNY visiting! So, I’ll be submitting this post to Chinese New Year Delights 2013, hosted by Sonia aka Nasi Lemak Lover =) 
Thanks for reading! ^^ Have a nice day!
2 thoughts on “[CC bakes]: Bitter + sweet + tart…

  1. This recipe is from Bourke St Bakery Cookbook… no wonder these muffins look so good. I have this book too at home and hope to try baking this recipe too 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

