[CC bakes]: Berrylicious!

Hi everyone! Do you know, I keep forgetting it’s Monday today! Why? Well, because it was Australia Day on Saturday (26th) so today is a public holiday since the actual day fell on the weekend. I pretty much only stay home on Sunday (if I don’t go on a dimsum feast with family and/or friends), so since I’m at home today, I keep thinking it’s Sunday! haha.

Anyway, so since I’ve got a ‘day off’, I decided to do some baking! Made two types of muffins this weekend, a dark chocolate and raspberry (post is upcoming), and these mixed berry muffins.

I love baking with citrus fruits and berries – it offsets the sweetness, adds moisture and looks beautiful with the array of colours.

I got the recipe from the Bourke St Bakery cookbook, which my siblings gifted me for my birthday last year. Remember I said I was going to make a start on the various cookbooks I have? Here’s one of them =)

Recipe
(Bourke St Bakery cookbook, with minor modifications)

400g all-purpose flour (I used 300g APF + 100g whole-wheat)
2tsp baking powder
300g caster sugar (I used 110g)
310g unsalted butter (I used 130g canola oil)
480mL buttermilk
3 eggs
150g strawberries, hulled and sliced
150g raspberries
150g blueberries (I used cherries, quartered)
30g raw sugar

1. Preheat oven to 190C (375F). Lightly grease 2 large 6-hole muffin tins and line with paper cases
2. Sift flour and baking powder into a large bowl. Add sugar and mix well to combine.
3. Melt butter, then remove from heat and stir in the buttermilk.
4. Using a whisk, stir in the eggs to combine. Don’t worry if there are still lumps of flour.
5. Gently fold through the fruit.
6. Spoon mixture into muffin pans until almost full and sprinkle the tops with raw sugar
7. Reduce oven temperature to 180C and bake for 25-30 minutes.
8. Allow to cool in tins for 10min before turning out onto wire rack.

I ended up with 12 large-ish muffins, and 5 smaller cupcake-sized ones. I think the Bourke St Bakery muffin holes must be a lot larger than mine! The muffins do shrink a bit upon cooling, so fill them up just like the recipe says – ‘until almost full’.

These were good! With my drastically reduced sugar content, it wasn’t too sweet for us – I would probably reduce it even more actually so that the sweetness comes from the fruit more.

Also perfect for little snacks during the CNY festive season – plus the colours from the berries are pretty festive, yeah? haha.

I’ll be submitting this post to Chinese New Year Delights 2013, hosted by Sonia aka Nasi Lemak Lover
Thanks for reading! ^^ Enjoy the rest of the week! 
Leave a Reply

