[CC bakes]: Dark Chocolate + Cinnamon…

Bittersweet dark chocolate…a hint of cinnamon spice…crumbly texture…buttery goodness. Who can resist that? Over the past year, I have somehow accumulated quite a few number of cookbooks. Now, I’m not usually a fan of cookbooks – I only want to make the investment if I know the recipes will be good. But these were gifts, and from my siblings too, so naturally I adore them. Plus, they’re ones I’ve seen before but just never really been inclined to buy…for the aforementioned reasons.

In addition, I have a pretty long list of blogs I haunt daily and I usually use recipes from them, but I’ve made a conscious decision to make a start on some of these cookbook recipes. This is what I chose first…dark chocolate & cinnamon cookies.

As usual, time has been creeping up on me and now it’s not long until CNY! I haven’t even started deciding on what to make this year! I thought this might be a perfect time for me to bake some cookies as small nibblies during the Lunar festive season. Except…they were polished off in 2 days…way ahead of CNY! haha.

I rarely bake cookies – I’m not a huge fan of the amount of butter that goes into it, but I thought it’s just once in a while so why not?

 
 Some for you, some for me…sharing is caring =)

I used a recipe from an awesome cookbook my siblings got for me for my birthday! It’s called Chocolat: The Chocolate Bible. It’s literally that…a whole book of chocolate-based recipes. Cakes, muffins, cookies, mousse, iced desserts, pralines & truffles and so on. It’s amazing how many things you can do with chocolate!
Recipe
(from Chocolat: The Chocolate Bible)
2 egg yolks
1tsp vanilla extract
2tbsp water
150g soft unsalted butter
100g icing sugar (I used 70g raw castor sugar)
300g flour, sifted (I used 200g APF and 100g whole wheat flour)
1/2tsp baking powder, sifted
1 large pinch salt
1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
120g chocolate chips (I chopped up 54% dark chocolate)
Icing sugar, sifted (I omitted this)

1. Combine egg yolks, vanilla extract and water. 
2. In a separate bowl, beat butter and sugar until creamy.
3. Add egg yolk mixture a bit at a time, beating after each addition. 
4. Blend in the flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon
5. Fold in the chocolate chops. Be careful not to overmix the dough.
6. Divide dough into two even portions and roll into log about 3cm diameter. 
7. Roll then in icing sugar and wrap in cling film. Roll again before chilling to ensure they’re evenly shaped and refrigerate for at least 1 hour. 
8. Preheat oven to 160C and butter/line a baking sheet.
9. Remove cling film, and cut dough into 1cm thick slices. Bake for ~10min, or until biscuits are golden (**I had to bake it for about 15 minutes, turning the pan once halfway for even browning)
10. Cool on rack, pack them as gifts or devour them with a cup of coffee or tea.

Also perfect for a little picnic! I also made some chocolate milk for my brother which was from the same cookbook. It’s really simple, just heat 500mL milk until boiling and pour over 80g of chopped chocolate. We don’t like things cloyingly sweet so I used dark chocolate as usual but you can use milk chocolate if you prefer. It’s VERY RICH so we actually add more milk when we drink it – I think I would use about 750mL milk to 80g chocolate. Two recipes down, and I don’t even know how many to go! haha.

I’ll be submitting this post to Chinese New Year Delights 2013, hosted by Sonia aka Nasi Lemak Lover.

Thanks for reading & hope you enjoy the cookies! ^^ Have a nice weekend!

4 thoughts on “[CC bakes]: Dark Chocolate + Cinnamon…

  1. Hi anonymous, thanks for dropping by! The cookies are crunchy and buttery – when you eat them fresh out of the oven, they're more crumbly but as they cool, they are more crunchy and slightly less crumbly. Yes, try them and let me know how you go! =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

