[CC bakes]: Tiramisu yule log

It’s Christmas time soon! Did 2012 fly by for anyone else? Or is it just me? I feel that this year went a little too quickly that sometimes I found it a bit hard to just relax and enjoy the days. I think I was a bit too busy this year – hopefully it isn’t the same for 2013, but I highly doubt that =P haha.

Anyway! In the recent years, I’ve noticed that yule logs are extremely popular at Christmas time. This doesn’t surprise me anymore, after a quick search about it, but before I read about it I was always a bit bemused at why a yule log? While I did think they looked awesome, I was ignorant about the story behind it. Until now, that is. I never realised there was such a deep history behind it…did you?

 
coffee, chocolate, mascarpone…mmm..tiramisu!
I’ve always wanted to make a yule log, but this has been hindered by both my inability to make a nice-looking swiss roll…and also time. But since Alan of Travelling Foodies is hosting this month’s Aspiring Bakers with the theme “Creative Christmas Motif Bakes”, I was adament that I would definitely make one this year! 
And I did! I made a tiramisu cake for my sister SC’s birthday and I still had some of the mascarpone balance left so I decided to make a tiramisu yule log! I’ve never come across a tiramisu swiss roll before but this turned out just as nice. 
Here’s what I did…
Sponge cake recipe
3 egg yolks
1tsp vanilla essence
30mL oil
125mL milk
90g cake flour
3 egg whites
3/4 cup sugar
1. Preheat oven to 175C (fan-forced)
2. Whisk egg yolks, vanilla essence, oil and milk until combined
3. Add cake flour and mix until smooth 
4. In a separate bowl, whisk egg whites until frothy
5. Gradually add sugar and whisk until medium-stiff peaks
6. Add 1/3 egg white mixture into the egg yolk mixture and fold to combine. 
7. Add the rest of the egg white mixture to the egg yolk mixture and gently fold to combine
8. Pour into swiss roll or sheet pan (I actually use a lamington pan) and bake for 15mins, or a skewer comes out clean
9. When baked, remove cake from pan and cover with another pan or a tea towel to retain moisture (don’t cool the cake in the pan because it may dry out from residual heat)
Mascarpone filling
I used the rest of the balance from the tiramisu cake for which I used Wendy’s recipe. It was FANTASTIC! I reduced the sugar though. 
Coffee mixture
3tbsp instant coffee granules (I used Moccona dark roast)
125mL hot water
10mL rum (I don’t have kahlua at home)
1. Dissolve coffee in the hot water and let it cool
2. Add the rum to the cooled coffee solution
Topping
I completely forgot about my idea to cover the swiss roll with the mascarpone mixture and I used the rest of it to make tiramisu cups. So I decided to just use egg white meringue and torch it. I just whipped some egg whites with some sugar until stiff peaks. You could of course use chocolate ganache or coffee buttercream, or whatever you wish. 
Assembly
1. Brush the underside of the sponge with coffee mixture
2. Spread the mascarpone mixture onto the sponge and smoothen (I like to leave a 2cm space at the end of the sponge so that the end of the roll will stop the filling from oozing out too much)
3. Grate some dark chocolate or sift chocolate powder or cocoa powder onto the mascarpone
4. Roll it up, gently, so that you don’t push the mixture out. 
5. Let it set in the fridge while preparing the topping
6. Cover with your desired topping (e.g., meringue/ganache/buttercream) and decorate. 
7. Slice and share with your loved ones =) After taking numerous photos…hehe.
Plus 2 teddy bears!
Sorry for the grainy photos – the lighting in my kitchen is not nice for photos and my photoshop skills are the bare minimum!
I’ll be submitting this post to this month’s Aspiring Bakers #26: Creative Christmas Motif Bakes, hosted by Alan of Travelling Foodies. 
Thanks for reading, everyone! ^^ Have fun with your creative Christmas bakes!
6 thoughts on “[CC bakes]: Tiramisu yule log

  1. Thanks for your comment, Valentines Teddy Bear! What a compliment that is. I never knew my poor writing would be inspiration to others! Thank you!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

