[CC cooks]: Soybean milk

Hi everyone! Apologies for the lack of updates – I’ve been so busy with uni and seminars lately, I haven’t had time to sit down and properly write up a post! I’ve got such a huge backlog of posts to write up…hopefully I can find the time once semester is over =)

I’d like to say a huge thank you to all of you for continuing to check out my blog despite the infrequent posting, though! Hope you enjoy this post!

I was super-craving soybean milk, and what to do when this happens? Make it! haha. I made some a couple of weeks ago, and I have to tell you, making soybean milk is really good exercise! I blend the beans with some water, then pour it through a cheesecloth and squeeze…like there’s no tomorrow. My arms got such a workout =P haha.

 
yummy! 
 

Anyway, this was very thick soybean milk because I don’t add as much water as my Nan. It was so nice! I wanted to save some for salty soybean milk but I completely forgot to ladle some out before adding rock sugar. Oh well, next time. Sigh, writing this really makes me miss the salty soybean milk I had in HK for breakfast with Mum…which reminds me, I really should write up those posts!

Cooking the milk was quite eventful. Once the milk boils, it REALLY BOILS and really quick too! I was keeping a super-close eye on it because I had experienced it over-boiling once when I made it previously and coming out of the pot. But alas, my eye was not watchful enough because before I knew it, it was over-boiling (again!) and spilled out the side…and what did I do? Well, all I could do was stand there turning off the fire and yell “argh, stop stop stop!”. Haha. Thankfully, my Mum was a bit more clear-headed and grabbed a cloth before it got onto the floor. Not a lot was wasted, thank goodness.
Stay tuned to see what I made with the milk and okara (pulp)!

Thanks for reading! ^^

Leave a Reply

