[CC cooks]: Sweet potato & ginger soup

My family loves to eat sweet potato. Sometimes my Dad and I will just microwave them for breakfast and it’s seriously one of the best things to eat in winter, eh!?! Holding the warm (well, HOT and pretty much burning if it’s freshly cooked..haha) sweet potato, breathing in the fragrance…and taking a massive bite…

and burning your mouth =P haha. Just kidding. Anyway, as you can tell, I’m quite a fan of sweet potato =P ESPECIALLY the charcoal roasted ones from the streetside stalls in HK! Omgoodness, I miss that soooooo much!

Anyway, I was roasting some for my Mum for breakfast (she likes it all caramelised) and there was quite a lot so I kept some aside to make a sweet potato tong sui which is so simple and easy to make.

I only have a very rough recipe because I don’t actually measure anything out for this. It’s more like ‘see how much sweet potato I have, add some water, boil, add some sugar’. It’s just incredibly simple.

Recipe
(by CC, a.k.a Dumpling Love)

Sweet potato, cut into chunks (I used a mix of orange and white)
2-3 slices ginger
Water
Rock sugar (you could also use black sugar which gives it a nice caramel taste; but NOT white sugar!)

1. Put water in saucepan with ginger slices and bring to boil
2. Add sweet potato, and bring to boil
3. Reduce heat and simmer until sweet potato is soft
4. Add sugar to taste
5. Serve hot or cold

So simple, right? You can also add some tong yuan to it, or some sago if you’re having it cold. I don’t peel the sweet potato…I just wash it thoroughly.

I made this in the morning and just ate my breakfast while it was on simmer. When I got home that night from uni, there was 1 bowl left. haha. Supposedly everyone just really liked it this time…!?! Maybe because it’s cold in the morning and it’s nice to have a hot bowl of this.

I’ll be submitting this post to Aspiring Bakers #20: Asian Dessert Buffet, hosted by Moon of Food Playground. 

Thanks for reading! ^^ Stay tuned for some exciting news tomorrow!

4 thoughts on “[CC cooks]: Sweet potato & ginger soup

  1. Oh adding lemongrass does sound interesting! I think it will be nice because lemongrass and ginger go quite well together anyway =) May try it next time!

    Like

  2. Hi Mich, thanks for dropping by! Thanks for your lovely comment – I too think this is comfort food, and so simple to make too. I'm so impressed by your baking/cooking, and photography!

    Like

Leave a Reply

