[CC bakes]: Char siu so (叉烧酥)

Hi everyone! How was your weekend? Apologies again for the lack of posts! My week was taken up by submitting 2 assignments, and starting my next one which is due soon as well =S Doesn’t it EVER END? =.=”

Anyway, I managed to finish my assignments the Friday before the Mother’s Day weekend so that I could spend Sunday with Mum, during which I fed her lots…and lots…and lots of food! haha. One of them was these char siu so!

Char siu so is one of our staples at dim sum. No dim sum is complete without (1) har gau, (2) egg tart, (3) phoenix claws, and (4) char siu so.

I’m so glad Aspiring Baker’s has given me the opportunity and courage to make these! I’ve been avoiding making puff pastry like it’s a disease because of the time involved…and what if I don’t get any layers? So much time spent! haha.

But luckily, I kicked myself in the butt and got myself moving!

I had bookmarked this recipe for as long as I can remember, and finally it was time to use it! haha. They turned out really really well! The filling I kind of the just made myself and I think next time I will make it a bit sweeter or add some honey to it, but overall it was nice. The pastry was flaky goodness..I added an extra fold in to make it more flaky.

My mum loved these – she loves to eat puff pastry things =)  I couldn’t help but go ‘mmmm’ and ‘omgoodness this is so good’ many many times while eating too! haha.

I am submitting this post to this month’s “Aspiring Bakers #19: Dim Sum Affair”, hosted by SSB of Small Small Baker. Thanks Aspiring Bakers!!

Now, to ogle at everyone else’s fantastic dim sum goodies! hehe.

Have a great week ahead, everyone! Thanks for reading! ^^

4 thoughts on “[CC bakes]: Char siu so (叉烧酥)

  1. Hi girl, I can believe that you made such a complicated dim sum dish! The dough is so time-consuming but looks at your 叉烧酥!How I wish that I can also grab some of your 叉烧酥. I love this too but still I still won't make it, haha only 1 word, lazy!

    Like

  2. Haha, I still can't believe I made this dish too!! I'm so lazy that I can't be bothered icing cupcakes usually…and now I made puff pastry?? =O haha. One thing for sure, I will NEVER complain about the price of 叉烧酥, or any puff pastry good for that matter!

    Like

Leave a Reply

