[CC cooks]: Kimchi

Hi guys! How has your week been? I’ve been busy busy busy…which seems to be the norm for the past couple of months =( Have so many assignments for uni to do! ><! Stress levels rising exponentially! Sigh, such is a student's life, right? haha…

Anyway! So, why do I have two large basins of Chinese cabbage having a nice peaceful bath in salted water? What am I making?

Β KIMCHI!!! or is it Kimchee? How do you guys spell it?

Homemade kimchi…I didn’t have a big enough container =P

Kimchi is a type of Korean banchan (side dish) and it can come in many forms. For example, you can have radish kimchi, bean sprout kimchi, cucumber kimchi and so on. But I had an excess of chinese cabbage in the fridge so I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to try my hand at this easy kimchi recipe!

One day I want to try make it with the actual cabbage intact, but because of time constraints, I settled for this easier and quicker method. It turned out really well – still not as good as my favourite kimchi in Perth but it’s a start at least. I think next time I would add a little less fish sauce…I’m not a HUGE fan of it and I could taste it a little too much in the kimchi.

Yum yum yum! Definitely not the last time I make kimchi myself!

Thanks for reading!^^ Hope you guys enjoy the rest of the week!

6 thoughts on “[CC cooks]: Kimchi

  1. Wow that's a lot of kimchi!! Unfortunately I can only eat white kimchi (non spicy). There are a lot of people who loves it and enjoy. I heard about the whole cabbage without intact too! That would be a fun project! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. haha..I know, right? It was a lot more than I expected!! I gave the little jar to my brother's girlfriend and the slim one to my Aunty =P

    I've never had white kimchi before!! I'll definitely have to keep an eye out for it..I only ever see the spicy one here in Perth.

    Like

  3. Thanks for your comment!! Yup there was a lot!! that's why I needed to give it away to others =P haha. Oh, next time I will definitely try the whole cabbage!

    Like

  4. Thanks for popping by, Caca! Oh interesting spelling! I've never seen it like that =P haha. Your handicrafts are amazing, by the way! so talented!

    Like

Leave a Reply

