[CC bakes]: I was supposed to roll…

Woah, it’s been quite a few days since my last post, hasn’t it? Last week, many things happen and I just wasn’t in the mood to blog =( But I’m trying to get back into it, lest it foreshadows the end of my blogging!

You may be wondering why I’ve titled my post like this. Well, here you see a layered cake. But it was actually intended to be a swiss roll. However, when I tried to roll it, it started to crack and it was clear that it wouldn’t stand any further rolling, so I decided to cut it and layer it up.

I was a bit disappointed because I was really excited to decorate it for Christmas (yes, this post is long overdue..I only just discovered the photo on my hard-drive..oops!), but oh well, it was my first time attempting to make a swiss roll so I’ll try again. I’m thinking maybe the sponge was a bit dry, or too thick. What do you guys think?

I layered it with chestnut puree and covered it with chocolate ganache and lightly toasted almond flakes. Even though it was a failed swiss roll, it was a successful chocolate chestnut layer cake. My family loved it because it wasn’t too sweet and there was a lot of chestnut flavour =)

I see so many gorgeous swiss rolls out there, some even with cute patterns on the outside, so hopefully one day I will be able to master the art of rolling! haha. 

Thanks for reading! ^^ Hope you all have a great week!!

Leave a Reply

