[CC bakes]: 紙包蛋糕 Paper-wrapped sponge cakes

Wow, it’s the last day of CNY already! Remember to eat your tong yuan tonight! haha. I CAN’T WAIT! I love eating tong yuan, especially the black sesame filling which is my absolute favourite! What about you? What’s your favourite tong yuan filling?  Or what’s the most ‘interesting’ one you’ve had?
I can’t believe how quick these 2 weeks have passed! Which also means it’s time for my sister SC to return to her overseas job =( I wonder how long she will be gone for this time?

紙包蛋糕

One of our favourite HK bakery items is the ‘zi bao dan go’, or the ‘paper wrapped sponge cake’. They’re just so fluffy and moist and easy to eat! Since I’ve begun baking chiffon cakes, I noticed the texture was very similar to the paper wrapped cakes we buy so I thought ‘Why not try using a vanilla chiffon recipe?’. So that’s exactly what I did, and it was a fantastic success!

My brother GC said it tasted exactly like the traditional ones in HK. I used the same recipe as the pandan chiffon cake, except changed the pandan extract to vanilla. And of course, reduced the sugar as per usual.

 The fluffy, moist inside…mmm..yummy!

SC loves paper wrapped cake so I made another batch just for her. This time I made half vanilla, and half black sesame, both of which were really nice. SC said they were nicer than the ones from the Asian bakeries in Perth!! =D

The black sesame was so fragrant! I think I might add a bit more next time because I like for there to be a strong fragrance.

I’m so glad they turn out well, because I usually find store-bought ones too sweet. Plus, it’s something everyone in my family enjoys so that’s good.

I also made ji dan gao, using Sonia’s recipe, which was quite nice too. It was a lot drier than the paper-wrapped sponge cakes since there’s no oil, but it’s nice and fluffy fresh out of the steamer. Some water from the steamer dripped onto the top of the cake so it’s a bit patchy =( 

This definitely won’t be the last time I’m making these!!
Thanks for reading! ^^
8 thoughts on “[CC bakes]: 紙包蛋糕 Paper-wrapped sponge cakes

  1. Thanks for your comment, Jessie! My older brother also doesn't like 紙包蛋糕 much, which I don't understand because they're sooo good! haha. You will be able to eat plenty while you're in HK!

    Like

  2. Thanks, Edith. You should try la! I have actually made A LOT of failed sponge cakes but these ones turn out beautifully (I was actually really surprised! haha).

    Like

Leave a Reply

