[CC bakes]: Santa stars…

Only 11 days until Christmas!!! How is everyone’s Christmas preparations going? I can’t believe it’s going to be Christmas soon…and before we know it, we’ll be ushering in the New Year!

Anyway! Since this month’s Aspiring Bakers theme is ‘Creative Christmas Bakes’, I thought I’d try my hand at some gingerbread. I made them into stars and initially wanted to make a gingerbread tree where all the stars are stacked on top of each other but I only have a single star cookie cutter and my attempt to make a tree resulted in a short, stumpy mess. So, I just iced them in the end.

And so they turned out like this…

Santa stars
ย 

I think they look pretty cute…haha. That’s my signature smiley face =P

To be honest, I hardly ever eat gingerbread because I never make it and it’s just not common practice in our household to buy it. The rare ones I’ve tried have been quite soft, but mine turned out pretty crunchy… haha. Is gingerbread supposed to be soft or crunchy?

I used this recipe from Phuoc’n Delicious, which had very subtle spice flavours so if you’re not a huge fan of spices (like my brother GC) then it’s worth a try. I love spices though so if I make this again, I would definitely add more spices.

I’ll be submitting this to the Aspiring Bakers #14: Creative Christmas Bakes (December 2011), hosted by Hankerie.

Thanks for reading! ^^

2 thoughts on “[CC bakes]: Santa stars…

Leave a Reply

