[Eating out]: Royal Seafood Chinese Restaurant – Northbridge

Way back in August, I went to Royal Seafood Chinese Restaurant for dinner with my Mum, Aunty and older brother. I was contemplating whether or not to post about it because it would be a looooong post – but then it just goes to show how dinner with crappy service and food can still turn out to be a happy affair.

Anyway, so here goes.

We ordered Singapore chilli mud crab. It was ok. Too sweet and not spicy. I’ve been lucky enough to eat the best chilli crab in Singapore so my standards are high…haha. The crab was really sweet and fresh though. Another thing – the deep-fried mantou is an additional charge…I always thought it was just part of the dish…!?!

 
 Singapore chilli mud crab

Next up was the snowpea sprouts with crab meat sauce on top. This was bad. The vegetables were cold…the crab meat sauce had a refrigerator smell…crab meat was obviously frozen packaged crab meat.

 Crab meat with snowpea sprouts (not the thin salad-type sprouts)

Then came seafood horfun…which was seriously bad. The seafood wasn’t fresh. I had one bite and I could tell there was a weird taste. We suspected it was the scallops, but since the sauce is cooked with the seafood, the whole dish was permeated with a mouldy expired-seafood taste. G.R.O.S.S. 
 Seafood horfun

Next was their signature dish – ‘gwai fa gai’ (Osmanthus chicken). It was actually not bad but a tad too salty for my liking.

 Gwai fa gai

Last main dish was their ‘eight treasure tofu claypot’. This was very disappointing. The quality of the meat and seafood used was mediocre and the flavour was nothing special. It’s definitely not worth the $25 or so. 
 Tofu claypot

They give complimentary fruit (orange..you can kiiind of see some of the peel at the top of the picture! haha), and dessert (red bean soup). The red bean soup was a bit diluted and nowhere near as good as some other ones I’ve had. 
Red bean soup
Ok…so that’s the food. Now, the service. We expected to have a short and simple dinner, except we ended up taking about 3 hours to eat 5 dishes because service was so slow. It took about 45mins for our first dish to come out, and another 30mins for the next dish (which was the vegetables). The restaurant wasn’t even jam-packed that night…although, they did have 3 large tables of 8 people so I’m guessing that’s why service was so slow and all the staff were so inattentive to you small table of four. 
The not-full restaurant

Anyway, I won’t bore you with exact details but let’s just say it was an eventful dinner. The wrong dish was served to us, one dish wasn’t even served and we were only alerted 2.5 hours after ordering that there was none left (doesn’t make sense). There was a debuncle with the dessert…unnecessary troubles. And when we informed the manager about the odd taste in the seafood horfun, he VERY reluctantly cancelled it from our bill and in fact tried to make us eat the rest of it.

I’ve got the details of the restaurant below, but I seriously wouldn’t recommend this place to anyone. I do apologize to readers who have been to this place and like/love it…maybe it was a bad night for us, but it was bad enough to make up our minds that we’re not going back. 
Royal Seafood Chinese Restaurant
91 Aberdeen St,
NORTHBRIDGE
PERTH WA
(08) 9328 7738

Thanks for reading! ^_^ 

One thought on “[Eating out]: Royal Seafood Chinese Restaurant – Northbridge

  1. Cold thick skin lumpy dimsum saved by chicken feet – I can’t believe some of the good reviews that surfaced in this site. It could either be of “friends” of the restaurant or Caucasians. I walked in at 11am today a Sunday to a quarter- full restaurants. An efficient Chinese young male waiter ushered me to a nice two seater table but the short plump female manager made some noise and I was pushed to a corner table sandwiched by two large tables and other smaller tables. Service was brisk for the first 3 minutes with a pot of hot tea and a fried dish. From then on, the bad service started. I asked for a chilli dip three times with different waiters and none came. I waved politely to another waiter (must be a second in command manager) who ignored me and so did the first grumpy female manager. I virtually have to shout across to another waiter who bought my chilli sauce finally – by that time my fried dish was cold. I kept asking for the steam stuff and was told “coming coming”. The two waitresses were either standing… more »I can’t believe some of the good reviews that surfaced in this site. It could either be of “friends” of the restaurant or Caucasians. I walked in at 11am today a Sunday to a quarter- full restaurants. An efficient Chinese young male waiter ushered me to a nice two seater table but the short plump female manager made some noise and I was pushed to a corner table sandwiched by two large tables and other smaller tables. Service was brisk for the first 3 minutes with a pot of hot tea and a fried dish. From then on, the bad service started. I asked for a chilli dip three times with different waiters and none came. I waved politely to another waiter (must be a second in command manager) who ignored me and so did the first grumpy female manager. I virtually have to shout across to another waiter who bought my chilli sauce finally – by that time my fried dish was cold. I kept asking for the steam stuff and was told “coming coming”. The two waitresses were either standing idle or flirting with ONLY the Caucasian tables that were probably “stuffed” by the steam dim sum as they were going back to them every 3-5 minutes. I lost my cool after 15 to 20 minutes and stood up and shouted across and screamed if I am going to get any service at all. Was not a good sight especially when the restaurant was not even full. Have to say that the waitress nervously said she will come over. The grumpy female manager then gestured something to her and they picked up some steam pieces to our table. I think they have definitely redefined “steam dim sum” as they were lukewarm some were cold and skin were thick and lumpy. Some of the pieces which were supposed to be prawns have more cut pieces of water chestnut more than anything else. The chicken feet were the best dish on the table that is simply because it is warmer than others. We had 7 baskets of food between two people and the only palatable ones are the chicken feet and the first fried dish and it still costs us close $40 plus. Definitely not something to smile about especially when we were treated like second class citizens. To make matters worse, I had to queue for another 10 minutes just to pay because the female manager was flirting happily with another bloky Caucasian man at the counter. Have never seen her smile so much other than to me. I don’t want to make this a “color” issue, but unless you are a white who only appreciates third rate dim sum with added flirtatious service from Chinese waitress – don’t bother. There are so many other dim sum restaurants who can offer better food for the same price. I have to say this restaurant has a little glimmer of hope from the quick and efficient service from the young Chinese boy (must be from China as he only speaks Mandarin). He works hard and was working like a slave – he is on to everything. If I were to start a restaurant, I will pay him double to work for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

