To my Daddy

父親節快樂!! Happy father’s day!

This post is dedicated to my dad. Usually it’s parents who express that they are proud of their children, but I’m happy to say that I am extremely proud of my dad.

My dad is an amazingly skilled person. He has taught himself so many things – I remember we paved our own backyard, laid our own bricks to build a wall, built our own reticulation system. He practically taught himself English in his 20’s, an age where it is difficult to pick up a second language fluently (he attended English school but there was seriously no point because he never did his homework and supposedly fell asleep in class! haha).

My dad has worked hard all his life, which is unfortunate because hard work is now so ingrained in his daily life that he finds it boring to just sit back and relax. To be honest, sometimes I find it really frustrating, and sometimes I snap at him because of this. I know you wouldn’t be reading my blog, dad, but I’m sorry for snapping at you. I do it because I don’t like to see you working so hard until you are physically and mentally tired.

親愛的爸爸, 祝你父親節快樂!! 我很感謝你所做的一切. Thank you for being there for me when I need you. There’s still so much I want to learn from you. Hope you had fun going out for yum cha and shopping with us today…I know I did. Most importantly, I hope everyday is a Happy Father’s Day for you.

Love, me.

Leave a Reply

